Sustainability: Home

Welcome to the GCLS Resource Guide on sustainability.

This guide provides a general overview of the concept of sustainability as well as eco-friendly tips and resources for businesses and homes.

Definition of Sustainability: According to the EPA, "Sustainability is based on a simple principle: Everything that we need for our survival and well-being depends, either directly or indirectly, on our natural environment. To pursue sustainability is to create and maintain the conditions under which humans and nature can exist in productive harmony to support present and future generations (EPA, 2022)."

In other words, humans must use resources from the natural environment in order to survive. To use natural resources sustainably means that nature is able to replenish them at a rate that is greater than or equal to the rate at which they are consumed.

To provide a framework for understanding how today's choices will affect current and future generations across the globe, the concept of sustainability is often broken down into the three E's: Economy, Ecology/Environment & Equity. Per the American Library Association's Social Responsibilities Round Table,

1. Economy is the management and use of resources to meet household and community needs.

2. Ecology is the pattern of relationships between living things and their environment. We all know our shoe size. How many of us know the size of our “ ecological footprint,” the amount of air, land, and water it takes to support us?

3. Equity is fairness. Ideally everyone in a community shares in its well-being. Where there is equity, decisions are based on fairness and everyone (regardless of race, income, sex, age, language, sexual orientation, or disability) has opportunities and is treated with dignity.

• Conservation International: Sustainable Living Tips: Provides over 70 sustainable strategies that can be implemented from home.
• Good Housekeeping: 100 Best Sustainability Tips for Sustainable Living: Provides 100 tips to make your home more environmentally friendly.
• Center for Biological Diversity: 12 Ways to Live More Sustainably: Provides general living strategies that are eco-friendly.
• Earth Day Every Day: 52 Ways to Invest in our Planet: Provides general strategies and tools for living sustainably.
• Marine Stewardship Council: 22 Simple Tips to Live a More Sustainable Lifestyle : Provides general eco-friendly living strategies for individuals.

• Library of Congress Green Business Resource Guide
  • This guide focuses on the development of green businesses, providing reading lists, database information, and online resources concerning implementation of sustainability principles within the business environment. 
• Investopedia: What is Sustainability?
  • This guide provides a through overview of the concept of sustainability from a business perspective, including assessments of the benefits and challenges of implementing sustainability principles within the business environment. 
• Sustainable Earth
  • This organization provides sustainability information, news and ideas in an accessible form with a focus on sustainability within the context of small business practices. Free online courses are offered through a partnership with Arizona State University.
• Green Business Network
  • A national organization for green businesses and businesses aspiring to become green, the GBN provides tools and information to help businesses thrive in today’s green marketplace.
• Sustainable Business Tips & Strategies:
  • Green Business Bureau: 20 Sustainable Business Practices for Your Workplace and Office
  • G2: 5 Impactful Sustainable Business Practices
  • Harvard Business School: What does "Sustainability" in Business Mean?

Business Databases:

• Gale Business Resources: Includes Business Plans Handbook, company profiles, encyclopedias, etc.
• Business Source Premier: This collection features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. In addition, it includes market research reports & industry reports.
• Small Business Reference Center: This database offers full text for many consumer small business reference books, as well as the necessary tools and instructions to address a wide-range of small business topics.

Science Databases:

• Today's Science: Bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today.
• Science Online: Science Online conveys the visual nature of science in a clear and easy-to-comprehend manner.
• Science Reference Center:  A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content.

Catalog Searches: Clicking on any of the terms below will perform a catalog search for all items across LOGIN with that subject, including books, ebooks, videos, etc. Eligible patrons may borrow these items.

• Sustainability
• Green Business
• Sustainable Living
• Sustainable Development

Text START to (856) 270-7883.

A Reference Librarian will respond as time permits during normal business hours. Charges from your provider may apply.

Librarian by Appointment is a service that allows you to schedule a one-time session of up to one hour with a member of the reference staff.

Receive Email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Register for Email Alerts

Commission Director
Frank J. DiMarco

Commission Library Liaison
Joann Gattinelli