Homeschooling: Home

Welcome to the GCLS Homeschooling Resource Guide.

This guide provides curated homeschooling resources with a focus on those available through the Gloucester County Library System as well as those available across the state of New Jersey. The guide is appropriate for families who are new to homeschooling in addition to those who have already established homeschooling curriculums.

• New Jersey Department of Education - Homeschooling FAQs: In New Jersey, the Legislature under the compulsory education law (N.J.S.A. 18A:38-25) has permitted children to receive “equivalent instruction elsewhere than at school,” including the home. These homeschooling FAQs provided by the State of New Jersey are intended to assist parents/guardians and public school districts in dealing with issues that frequently arise in this context.
• New Jersey Homeschool Association: The NJHA provides advocacy in support of fair homeschooling laws and requirements in the State of New Jersey. The organization also provides information and support to families beginning the homeschooling process.
• Homeschooling Legal Defense Association: The HSLDA, a national membership organization for homeschoolers, provides advocacy to state legislatures in order to support fair homeschooling laws and requirements, legal counseling and representation to HSLDA members, and financial support to families who wish to homeschool but lack the necessary funds.

Online Educational Resources & Reference Services: GCLS provides a wide range of free online educational resources to library card holders as well as remote reference services. Below is a brief selection:

• Homework Help: A comprehensive list of online databases, websites and resources appropriate for kids of all ages, parents, and teachers.
• Subject Guides: Research assistance, subject guides, and useful resources compiled by librarians at the Gloucester County Library System.
• Online Resources by Subject: Curated lists of websites and online library resources on a number of subjects ranging from African American Culture to Test Preparation and Practice. Some online resources require users to enter their GCLS library card number to get access, so have your library card at hand. Below are a few highlights:
  • Tumblebooks: An online collection of animated talking picture books.
  • Novelist K-8: An electronic readers' advisory resource which assists fiction and nonfiction readers in finding new authors and titles.
  • Primary Search: Primary Search is a full-text database providing popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection.
  • Middle Search: Middle Search Plus is a full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference books.
  • Points of View: Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of current issues.

In-Person Programs & Reference Services:

• GCLS offers a large array of educational and enjoyable programing to young children, tweens and teens, including STEAM programs geared specifically to homeschoolers, storytimes, crafts, book clubs. Lego clubs, art clubs and more. All programs are posted on our searchable online calendar with more information posted on our Youth Services page. 
• Librarian By Appointment: Make an appointment with a GCLS librarian and receive personalized assistance with your information needs and/or instruction in how to use the library’s resources. Librarians can assist with research for homework and term papers, among other topics.

Other Resources:

• Museum Pass Program: GCLS offers free passes to a number of local attractions and museums including the Penn Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, The Museum of the American Revolution, and the Battleship New Jersey. 
• Library of Things: GCLS offers a wide selection of outdoor games, board games, puzzles, science and STEAM learning kits, and hotspots for loan.

Text START to (856) 270-7883.

A Reference Librarian will respond as time permits during normal business hours. Charges from your provider may apply.

Librarian by Appointment is a service that allows you to schedule a one-time session of up to one hour with a member of the reference staff.

Receive Email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Register for Email Alerts

Commission Director
Frank J. DiMarco

Commission Library Liaison
Joann Gattinelli