LibGuides: Veterans Resources: Home

About

Welcome to the GCLS Veterans Resource Guide.

This guide provides easy access to a variety of resources on organizations on the federal, state, and local level that help veterans.

Books & eBooks

Federal Benefits for Veterans, Dependents, and Survivors
An official, up-to-date government manual that covers everything from VA life insurance to survivor benefits. Veterans of the United States armed forces may be eligible for a broad range of benefits and services provided by the US Department of Veterans Affairs (VA).
more...less...
ISBN: 9781510744257
The Wounded Warrior Handbook : A Resource Guide for Returning Veterans
Offers straightforward answers to questions commonly asked by wounded U.S. military veterans and their family members. Brings together information on medical treatments, as well as financial, legal, and tax matters.
more...less...
ISBN: 9780393652512
Veterans Benefits Guide for Dummies
Your clear and concise guide to the benefits available to you from the VA and other government organizations. You have access to physical and mental healthcare, financial services, long-term planning, education, and much more. This book explains how to make sense of and take advantage of the extensive benefits program offered to veterans in the United States. You'll learn what you're eligible for, how to file applications and claims, and how to appeal decisions. This book covers the most recent benefits available, including vocational rehabilitation, life insurance, home loans, pensions, burial benefits, and survivors' benefits. With Dummies, you can navigate the paperwork to make sure you're getting everything that's available to you.

Figure out the VA benefits system and learn what paperwork you need
Discover the pros and cons of veterans' services versus civilian services
Develop a smart financial plan with a good understanding of military pensions
Find and secure benefits you may not have known about - for yourself and your family.
ISBN: 9781119907619

GCLS Online Resources

Military and Government Collection (EBSCO)
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent those in active service, veterans, and their families.
Military OneSource
This Department of Defense-funded program provides comprehensive information on every aspect of military life at no cost to active duty, Guard and reserve service members, and their families.

Local, State, and Federal Resources for Veterans

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
An executive branch department of the federal government charged with providing life-long healthcare services to eligible military veterans at the 170 VA medical centers and outpatient clinics located throughout the country. Non-healthcare benefits include disability compensation, vocational rehabilitation, education assistance, home loans, and life insurance. The VA also provides burial and memorial benefits to eligible veterans and family members at 135 national cemeteries.
VA Mental Health
The VA has a variety of mental health resources, information, treatment options, and more — all accessible to Veterans, Veterans’ supporters, and the general public.
U.S. Department of Labor Veterans' Employment and Training Service
An agency of the Department of Labor tat exists to prepare America's veterans, transitioning service members, and military spouses for meaningful careers, provide them with employment resources and expertise, protect their employment rights, and promote their employment opportunities.
New Jersey Department of Military and Veterans Affairs
NJ Department of Military and Veterans Affairs (DMAVA) provides the state's Veterans and their dependents with information and guidance in filing claims. Trained Veterans Service Officers at these offices also assist Veterans with issues pertaining to employment, education, burial, counseling, housing, social and medical services, and other areas of concern to Veterans and their families.
Gloucester County Department of Veterans Affairs
Since 1998, the Gloucester County Board of County Commissioners has been working to improve the services that are available to our Veterans and their families.

Veterans Organizations

American Legion
Organization of veterans that seeks to enhance the well-being of America's veterans, their families, our military, and our communities by our devotion to mutual helpfulness.
Disabled American Veterans (DAV)
An organization that seeks to empower veterans to lead high-quality lives with respect and dignity.
Wounded Warrior Project
An American charity and veterans service organization that offers a variety of programs, services and events for wounded veterans of the military actions

Text Us!

Text START to (856) 270-7883.

A Reference Librarian will respond as time permits during normal business hours. Charges from your provider may apply.

Librarian By Appointment

Librarian by Appointment is a service that allows you to schedule a one-time session of up to one hour with a member of the reference staff.

Recieve Email Updates

Receive Email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Gloucester County Board of Commissioners

Commission Director
Frank J. DiMarco

Commission Library Liaison
Joann Gattinelli