LibGuides: Consumer Education / Identity Theft: Home

About

Welcome to the GCLS Consumer Research Guide.

This guide provides easy access to authoritative consumer related resources available at the Gloucester County Library System.

Receive Email Updates

Receive Email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

New Jersey Consumer Affairs Department

New Jersey Consumer Affairs Department

GCLS Catalog Search

Everything Catalog Only

GCLS Consumer Subscription Databases

Consumer Reports Magazine - full text (Ebsco)
Complete issues of the Consumer Reports magazine from 1/1/1991 to current month.

Use your GCLS Library card number to access the following subscription resources.

Selected Web Links

American Bar Association
Listing of lawyers.
Annual Credit Report Service
Consumers nationwide are now able to obtain free copies of their credit histories from the three national credit bureaus (Equifax, Experian and TransUnion), once every 12 months, by making a single request. To help prevent identity theft, some consumers obtain one credit report from one entity on a quarterly basis.
Better Business Bureau
BBB is the resource to turn to for objective, unbiased information on businesses.
Consumer Government Resource
Provides government consumer resources.
Consumer Price Index
Monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.
Consumer Product Safety Commission: Report a Product
From the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, this form allows you to report a product for recall.
Consumer Search (Product reviews)
A website for various consumer product reviews and reports.
Federal Trade Commission Consumer Advice: Online Shopping
Government resource that provides tips for safe online shopping.
GuideStar
Provides information to consumers regarding nonprofits.
Identity Theft
Provides information on both identity theft protection and what to do if your identity has been stolen.
New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs License Verification System
A database for searching individual and business licenses in New Jersey. For example: accountancy firms; architects and engineers certificates of authorization; barber shops; cemeteries; cosmetology.

Identity Theft News Feeds

Text Us!

Text START to (856) 270-7883.

A Reference Librarian will respond as time permits during normal business hours. Charges from your provider may apply.

Librarian By Appointment

Librarian by Appointment is a service that allows you to schedule a one-time session of up to one hour with a member of the reference staff.

Gloucester County Board of Commissioners

Commission Director
Frank J. DiMarco

Commission Library Liaison
Joann Gattinelli