LibGuides: U.S. Government Resources: Home

About

Welcome to the GCLS U.S. Government Publications Research Guide.

This guide provides easy access to authoritative U.S. Government-related resources available at the Gloucester County Library System.

Receive Email Updates

Receive Email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Gloucester County Board of Commissioners

Commission Director
Frank J. DiMarco

Commission Library Liaison
Joann Gattinelli

GCLS Catalog Search

Everything Catalog Only

GCLS Subscription Databases

Legal Information Reference Center
Legal Information Reference Center provides online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books. It contains more than 310 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms.

Use your GCLS Library card number to access the following subscription resources.

eBook Reference Collection (EBSCO)
A collection of reference books in electronic format.

Selected Web Links

Bureau of Labor Statistics
U.S. Department of Labor site that collects, analyzes and disseminates economic information, including the Occupational Outlook Handbook.
Internal Revenue Service
Provides tax information including forms and publications.
POTUS - Presidents of the United States
Comprehensive site on the American presidency includes biographies, speeches and writings, election results, odd facts and presidency highlights.
U.S. Census Bureau
The official government website of the U.S. Census Bureau providing data about the nation's people and economy.
U.S. Code of Federal Regulations
The codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
U.S. Government Printing Office
The provider of publishing and dissemination for official and authentic government publications, including the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.
U.S. House of Representatives
Provides a listing of representatives by state, links to the web pages of the committees and a scheduling of pending legislation.
U.S. Senate
Includes a listing of Senators and committees. Visitors can search hearings and legislation and also watch a live webcast.
USA.gov
The official web portal of the United States government. It provides easy access for the public to access governemnt information and services.
The White House
The official site of the White House includes legislation and an archive of press briefings, statements and releases, and presidential actions.

Selected Books

The United States Constitution: A Graphic Adaptation by Jonathan Hennessey; Aaron McConnell (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780809094875
A graphic novel that provides an introduction to the Constitution. It covers all areas from the Preamble to the Twenty-seventh Amendment. Also, it describes how a bill becomes a law and what guided the authors in writing the document.
Signing Their Lives Away by Denise Kiernan; Joseph D'Agnese
ISBN: 9781594743306
Examines the fifty-six men who signed the Declaration of Independence. The reader is introduced to the statesmen, soldiers and criminals who were part of this interesting group and how many of them met their fates, some of which were as fascinating as their personalities.

Text Us!

Text START to (856) 270-7883.

A Reference Librarian will respond as time permits during normal business hours. Charges from your provider may apply.

Librarian By Appointment

Librarian by Appointment is a service that allows you to schedule a one-time session of up to one hour with a member of the reference staff.

U.S. Government Resources: Home