LibGuides: General Reference: Home

About

Welcome to the GCLS General Reference Guide.

This guide provides easy access to authoritative general reference resources available at the Gloucester County Library System.

Citation Generators

BibMe
Generates citations for MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian, and more.

Need to make a Works Cited or References page? Check out these free citation generators:

EasyBib
Generates citations for MLA for free with the power of OCLC WorldCat behind it. All other citation styles require a fee.
Son of Citation Machine
Generates citations for MLA, APA, Chicago, and more.

Mathematics

Conversion Calculators
Convert a variety of numbers from length and area to temperature and cooking.
Foreign Currency Converter
Foreign currency and exchange information from Xe.com.
Wolfram|Alpha
Wolfram|Alpha introduces a fundamentally new way to get knowledge and answers by doing online dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods.

GCLS Catalog Search

Everything Catalog Only

GCLS Subscription Databases

eBook Reference Collection (EBSCO)
A collection of reference books in electronic format.

Have research to do? Check out these great subscription resources to help you find authoritative articles, eBooks, and more! Use your GCLS Library card number to access the following subscription resources:

Also check out our Online Research Tips to help navigate the databases.

EBSCOhost Web
Provides full text for over 1,950 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975.
Explora (EBSCO)
A premier search tool for kids and students with authoritative links to educational magazines, books, news articles, and more.
Facts on File World News Digest (1940-present)
Full text of 63 years of the print edition of Facts On File World News Digest.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Full text access to the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia.
GCLSearch
Not sure where to start your research? This powerful tool searches many databases, as well as the library catalog, all at once.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 700 full-text newspapers, providing more than 31 million full-text articles.
Referencia Latina
Referencia Latina, a comprehensive Spanish-language database, offers content from a variety of sources.
The World Almanac for Kids Online
The online database version of the World Almanac for Kids, the best-selling reference book for kids.
World Geography and World Culture Online
Filled with the most up-to-date information available, World Geography and World Culture Online provides more than 1,200 clear, reproducible, full-color maps.

Online Reference Materials

Census Bureau Data
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic information from the U. S. Census Bureau.
Infoplease: All the Knowledge You Need
Provides reliable, authoritative information from atlas, encyclopedia, dictionaries, and more.
ipl2: Internet Public Library
While it is no longer updated, the ipl2 still provides a wealth of online resources and subject guides that were created by librarians.
Library of Congress Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of countries throughout the world.
Oxford Dictionaries Online
Up-to-date dictionary that covers English and other languages.
Sports Reference
Up-to-date information on all major professional sports including game results and statistics.
Thesaurus.com
Current online thesaurus for discovering synonyms and antonyms of words.
Virtual Reference Shelf
Selected online reference resources for research from the Library of Congress.
World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.