Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the GCLS Biography and Autobiography Research Guide.
This guide provides easy access to authoritative biography and autobiography-related resources available at the Gloucester County Library System.
Suggested Catalog Searches
These preset searches return up-to-date lists of biography-related resources from our catalog. Holds can be placed on most items and sent to your most convenient library for pickup.
Biography - Actors
Biography - Authors
Biography - Musicians
Biography - Presidents
For biographies on specific individuals please enter their name followed by the word "biography" in the Catalog Search Box at the top of this page.
For example: Barack Obama biography
GCLS Subscription Databases
African-American History Online
Covering more than 500 years of African-American history, this comprehensive reference database features thousands of entries. Includes biographies, primary sources, images, timelines, maps, and charts.
Use your GCLS Library card number to access the following subscription resources.
Selected Web Links
Biographies of Presidents, Athletes, Entertainers, and More
Part of the Infoplease.com site, this contains over 30,000 biographies of historical and contemporary figures.
Offical site of A&E's Biography television series. Includes the searchable text of 15,000 entries from The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia.
Nobelprize.org is the official web site of the Nobel Prize.
POTUS - Presidents of the United States
Comprehensive site on the American presidency includes biographies, speeches and writings, election results, odd facts and presidency highlights.
The Pulitzer Prizes site contains the complete list of Pulitzer Prize winners from 1917 (the first year the Prizes were awarded) to the present.
EBSCOHost Biography Collection Search
Text START to (856) 270-7883.
A Reference Librarian will respond as time permits during normal business hours. Charges from your provider may apply.
Librarian By Appointment
Librarian by Appointment is a service that allows you to schedule a one-time session of up to one hour with a member of the reference staff.
Gloucester County Board of Freeholders
Robert M. Damminger
Freeholder Library Liaison