Social Services in Gloucester County: Home

Welcome to the GCLS Social Services Resource Guide.

This guide provides social service resources for adults, youth, and families, focusing on services provided in Gloucester County.

When you contact NJ 211, you will be communicating with a community resource specialist who has been educated about federal, state, and local systems created to help people who are struggling. 211 specialists have access to a resource database of over 7,600 community programs and services that assist people who need help with life's most basic needs like food, utilities, affordable housing, rental assistance, mental and physical health, substance use disorders, childcare, senior needs, legal assistance, transportation, disability services and so much more. 

Contact:

By phone (simply dial 2-1-1)
Via text (send your zip code to 898-211)
By email (info@nj211.org)

If you live in NJ and you are in need of help, dial 211 or 877-746-5211. You will be connected with your county’s most appropriate resources.

First Call For Help - 1.800.648.0132: First Call for Help provides homeless intervention and case management, emergency shelter placements, and emergency food assistance to Gloucester County Residents. The hotline is open 24 hours a day, 7 days per week.

• Gloucester County Department of Health & Human Services
  • Telephone: 856-218-4101
  • Address: 204 E Holly Avenue, Sewell, NJ 08080
• Gloucester County Division of Social Services
  • Telephone: 856-582-9200, 856-582-2337 (TTY)
  • Description: The Gloucester County Division of Social Services provides a broad range of assistive services to Gloucester County Residents including: 
    • Cash assistance to families and adults
    • Child Support and Paternity
    • Emergency assistance and employment support activities
    • Food Stamps
    • Medicaid
• Gloucester County Office of Mental Health 
  • Telephone: 856-384-6889
  • Emergency: 911
  • Psychiatric Emergency Screening Services: 856-845-9100
  • Description: The Office of Mental Health collaborates with state and local partners for resource development for our citizens with mental health issues. 
• Gloucester County Office of Addiction Services
  • Telephone: 856-384-6885
  • Description: The Gloucester County Division of Addiction Services coordinates services for adults and adolescents seeking help for substance use issues. Addiction Services may include prevention, intervention, treatment (detox, residential, outpatient, halfway house) & recovery support (medication-assisted treatment, sober living).  
• Division of Nursing Services
  • Telephone: 856-218-4102
  • Description: Gloucester County Nursing Services provides a broad range of health related services to the public, including:
    • Vaccines for children and adults
    • Flu Vaccines
    • Health screenings and counseling
    • HIV testing and counseling
    • STI testing and counseling
    • Tuberculosis control
    • Mental health counseling and treatment
    • Skin testing
• Gloucester County Division of Human & Special Services
  • Telephone: 856-384-6842
  • Description: The Gloucester County Division of Human and Special Services fosters a comprehensive human services delivery system by implementing, coordinating, and improving our network of community-based organizations through the use of our Federal, State, and County funds. The Division consists of:
    • Addictions Services/Addictions Task Force/Municipal Alliance
    • Blind and Visually Impaired
    • Children's Services (Behavioral Health, Developmentally/Intellectually Disability, and Substance Use Disorder)
    • Disability Services
    • Grants Management/Contracting/Fiscal
    • Mental health
    • Personal Assistance Service Program
    • Youth Services/Juvenile Justice
    • Transportation Services
• Gloucester County WIC
  • Telephone: 856-218-4116
  • Description: The Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) Nutrition Program of Gloucester County provides services and food vouchers to pregnant or post-partum women, infants, and children under five years old free of charge to eligible local residents.
• Division of Transportation
  • Telephone: 856-686-8355
  • Description: The Division of Transportation Services (DTS) provides fare-free non-emergency curb-to-curb transportation services to senior citizens (60 years and older), people with disabilities, veterans, and low-income residents of Gloucester County.
• Gloucester County Division of Senior Services
  • Telephone: 856-384-6900 or 877-222-3737
  • Description: The Division of Senior Services is the primary planning, coordinating, and funding agency for senior programs and services promoting the well-being, health, and independence of Gloucester County's older adults over the age of 60. The Division focuses especially on seniors who are vulnerable or frail and in the greatest social and economic need. Services include:
    • Adult protective services
    • Nutrition programs
    • Exercise programs
    • Information and referral services
    • Medicare counseling services
    • Senior social events

• Environmental Health - 856- 218-4180 - The Environmental Health division provides technical assistance and enforces public health and environmental laws to ensure the protection of the environment and the health and safety of Gloucester County residents. Service areas include air pollution control, water pollution control, noise pollution control, drinking water safety, and solid waste control.  
• Consumer Health - 856-218-4170 - The Consumer Health division conducts inspections and enforces public health laws to ensure the health and safety of Gloucester County residents. Service areas include body art facilities oversight, campgrounds oversight, food surveillance, lead abatement, public health nuisance investigations, rabies/zoonosis control, recreational bathing facility inspections, and youth camp oversight.
• Health Education - 856-218-4106 - The Health Education program encourages optimal health of all people in Gloucester County by emphasizing health awareness, quality nutrition, and adequate physical activity. Services include presentations, screenings and materials; a Family Health Festival; Senior Health Connection, an outreach program providing basic health screenings to seniors; "Step by Step" Walking Program; Tai Chi exercise program; and Sunrise Yoga exercise program. 
• Animal Shelter - 856-881-2828 - The Gloucester County Animal Shelter provides impoundment and adoption services as well as a low-cost Spay/Neuter clinic.
• Covid-19 Alerts & Information - The Covid-19 Alerts and Information Center provides comprehensive information on vaccine recommendations and availability, testing locations, test kits, up-to-date infection rates as well as other resources. 

Text START to (856) 270-7883.

A Reference Librarian will respond as time permits during normal business hours. Charges from your provider may apply.

Librarian by Appointment is a service that allows you to schedule a one-time session of up to one hour with a member of the reference staff.

Receive Email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Register for Email Alerts

Commission Director
Frank J. DiMarco

Commission Library Liaison
Joann Gattinelli