LibGuides: Computer Training: Home

About

Welcome to the GCLS Computer Research Guide.

This guide provides easy access to authoritative computer-related resources available at the Gloucester County Library System.

GCLS Catalog Search

Everything Catalog Only

GCLS Computer Classes

Upcoming Classes:

Latest Computer News

From Computer World

Computer Tips

PC World
Provides tips for solving 10 common computer problems.
How to Geek
Computer and technology information from the How-To Geek website.
TechSpot: Tips, Tricks, and How To
This website includes cool tricks, customization, speed, hardware, pc repair, and so much more.

Computer Safety

A Parent's Guide to Internet Safety
Pamphlet created by the FBI that helps parents to understand the complexities of online child exploitation. For further information, please contact your local FBI office or the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children at 1-800-843-5678.
Avast Antivirus
Protect your computer from a variety of malware and spyware with the freely available Avast. The free version provides all the security essentials a basic computer user needs.
25 Vital Computer Maintenance Tips and Checklist to Protect Your Device
A one-page list from Norton that provides ways to maintain your computer physically and virtually.
Computer Security Threats
This one-page resource provides information on computer viruses and other malware, hoaxes, and security threats.
Internet Safety
Internet Safety course through GCFLearnFree provides strategies, skills, and the mindset needed to protect yourself, your computer, and your privacy when you connect to the Internet.
Virtual Privacy Lab
Created by the San Jose Public Library, this site features links, tips, and resources to empower yourself and take control of your privacy online.

eBooks - Downloading eBooks to Digital Devices

GCLS Subscription Databases & Online Research Tips

Complete List of Databases
Looking for our subscription databases? You'll find a complete alphabetical list of them here.

Want to learn about computers, software, or even online research? Use your GCLS library card number to access the following subscription resources.

Database Help Videos:

Online Research Tips
Not sure how to get started with researching? Let our reference department help with these tips and resources.
Learning Express
The fastest and easiest way to learn how to use a computer is with video courses. Learn computer basics fast and get comfortable with everything your computer has to offer.
Universal Class
Choose from over 500 online continuing education courses including computer basics 101, Microsoft Office 2013, Adobe Creative Suite, and much more!
Using the Catalog
Need help using our online catalog to locate materials? This guide introduces you to effective searching of the catalog and how to manage your library account.

Downloadables and Streaming

Looking to borrow and download eBooks, eAudiobooks, Movies, Music, TV Shows, and more for free? All you need is your library card! Check out these services below:

Hoopla
Features thousands of eBooks, eAudiobooks, Movies, TV, Music, and Comics.
Kanopy
The Kanopy on demand video streaming service provides access to over 30,000 films and documentaries from hundreds of popular producers such as the The Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, The Great C.
Overdrive
Features thousands of eBooks, eAudiobooks, and magazines.

Learning Computer Skills

Whether you are a beginner with computers and the Internet or you want to learn a programming language, check out our Computer Skills resources! Click on the tabs at the top of the screen (shown in the image below) to find information and resources suited to your skill level.

Having eResource Trouble?

Are you experiencing trouble downloading eBooks, accessing databases, etc.? Check out this FAQ for assistance. You can also visit or contact the Mullica Hill Library at 856-223-6050 for further help.

Q: Why am I receiving the message "privilege has expired" when I try to login to download eBooks, eAudiobooks, etc.?

A: Most library cards expire every two years and must be renewed. To do this, visit a GCLS branch library with a valid form of photo identification that has your current address, such as a driver's license. You can request a temporary 30-day extension of your library card so you can continue to download and access eResources until you are able to visit the library. You can do this by sending an email to ebooks@gcls.org or calling 856-223-6050.

Q: I have a Nook device, but I cannot download any apps through the Nook Store, such as the Overdrive app. Why is this?

A: On March 16th 2016, Barnes and Noble disbanded the Nook Store. All affected devices will no longer be able to download apps. If you previously purchased apps, they will remain on your device, however, they will no longer receive updates. This affects the following Nook models: Nook Color, Nook Tablet, Nook HD, Nook HD+, Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 Nook 7.0, Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 Nook 10.1, Samsung Galaxy Tab E Nook, Samsung Tab Galaxy S2 Nook.

However, the Google Play Store will replace the Nook Store on selected devices. Through the Play Store, you will be able to download apps like Overdrive and Hoopla. The following devices have access to the Google Play Store: Nook HD, Nook HD+, Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 Nook 7.0, Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 Nook 10.1, Samsung Galaxy Tab E Nook, Samsung Galaxy S2 Nook. However, the Nook Color, Nook Tablet, and any other models not mentioned here will not have access to the Play Store and are unable to download the apps.

Q: How can I download eBooks to my Nook if I cannot download the Overdrive app?

A: You will need a computer or laptop to do this. You can download eBooks from Overdrive, load them into Adobe Digital Editions, and then transfer them to your Nook via a wire connecting your Nook to the computer. Detailed instructions can be found on the Overdrive Help website.

Q: It's been a while since I used my Kindle, and I want to download eBooks and eAudiobooks, and I am getting this error message: "Your Kindle is unable to connect at this time. Please make sure you are within wireless range and try again. If the problem persists, please restart your Kindle from the Menu in Settings and try again." What do I do?

A: If you are receiving this message, you need to update your Kindle. Amazon provides instructions on how to do this. You can access these instructions on any Internet connected device: Updating Your Kindle

Free Open-Source Software

Audacity
Free, open-source software for recording and editing sounds. Available for Windows, OS X, and Linux.

Open-source software is software whose source code is publically available for modification or enhancement by anyone.

The following are tried and true open-source programs that can be downloaded free-of-charge. While not all open-source software is free, the following links below are. Programs can be used immediately "out-of-the-box". You can learn more about open-source software here.

Please note that, as with anything on the Internet, you download at your own risk.

Blender 3D Modeling Program
Free, open-source 3D modeling software. Available for Windows, OS X, and Linux.
GIMP - GNU Image Manipulation Program
Free, open-source image editor. Available for Windows, OS X, and Linux.
LibreOffice - The Document Foundation
Free, open-source office suite. Capable of word processing, creating spreadsheets, presentations, and more. Available for Windows, OS X, and Linux.
Notepad++
Free source code editor that is more advanced that the traditional Windows Notepad program and supports a variety of languages. Available for Windows.
VLC Media Player
Free, open-source software created by the VideoLAN Organization to play a variety of media including CDs, DVDs, multimedia files, and more. Runs on all platforms.